Agenda

International Symposium 2022: TBC

This International Symposium on Project Leadership will take place on Wednesday 10 November 2021. It is organised by the John Grill Institute for Project Leadership at the University of Sydney.

See below for the full agenda, with keynote sessions and community building activities through the day.

Morning Session

Add to calendar

All times 9:00 – 11:30pm Sydney local time.

Indicative time zone conversions – 9:30am Sydney Local Time
Auckland11:00am
Beijing6:00am
Berlin11:00pm
Brisbane8:00am
Doha1:00am
Hong Kong6:00am
London10:00pm
Los Angeles2:00pm
Mexico City4:00pm
New York5:00pm
Shanghai6:00am
Singapore6:00am
Tokyo7:00am
Zurich11:00pm
See full list of cities on timeanddate.com

Welcome and Introductions
9.00 – 9.30am   

Welcome: John Grill, Professor Willy Zwaenepoel (Dean of Engineering)
and Professor Jennifer Whyte (Institute Director)

  • Context for and overview of the Symposium
  • The John Grill Institute for Project Leadership
  • Words of welcome
Session 1: Project Leadership 
9.30 – 10.10am

Chair: Professor Richard Badham, University of Sydney 

With interest in how we conceive, set up, govern, deliver and gain value from projects, and from programs and portfolios, this scene-setting session will discuss research insights from the University of Sydney on project leadership in a changing world, and connect this with themes on. 

  1. Project models and digital delivery 
  2. Organisational dynamics of projects 
  3. Projects for sustainable, resilient and just futures 

Panel Speakers: Professor Lynn Crawford, University of Sydney; Professor Stewart Clegg, University of Sydney; Professor Jennifer Whyte, University of Sydney

Session 2: Insights on Project Leadership for a Changing World 
10.10-10.50am

Chair: Associate Professor Julien Pollack, University of Sydney

The challenges of a changing world suggest the need for new forms of project leadership, project sponsorship and project governance. This session draws on research insights to explore future directions.

Panel Speakers: Professor Nathalie Drouin, Université du Québec à Montréal; Professor Richard J Badham, University of Sydney; Professor Raymond Levitt, Blackhorn Ventures

Wrap up and next sessions 
10.50 – 11.00am 

11.00-11.30am Break

Breakout Sessions 

Add to calendar

All times 11.00 – 11:30am Sydney local time.

Indicative time zone conversions – 9:30am Sydney Local Time
Auckland1:00pm
Beijing8:00am
Berlin1:00am
Brisbane10:00am
Doha3:00am
Hong Kong9:00am
London12:00pm
Los Angeles4:00pm
Mexico City6:00pm
New York7:00pm
Shanghai8:00am
Singapore8:00am
Tokyo9:00am
Zurich1:00am
See full list of cities on timeanddate.com

Breakout sessions
11.00 – 11.30am   
  1. Project Leadership and Project Models (open discussion, chaired by Dr Mahshid Tootoonchy)
  2. Digital Transformation of Projects (open discussion, chaired by Dr Shahadat Uddin)
  3. Organizational Dynamics of Projects (open discussion, chaired by Dr Marzena Baker)
  4. Projects for Sustainable, Resilient and Just Futures (open discussion, chaired by Dr Ken Chung)

Research Developments

All times 11:30 – 12:30pm Sydney local time.

Indicative time zone conversions – 11:30am Sydney Local Time
Auckland1:30pm
Beijing8:30am
Berlin1:30am
Brisbane10:30am
Doha3:30am
Hong Kong8:30am
London12:30am
Los Angeles4:30pm
Mexico City6:30pm
New York7:30pm
Shanghai8:30am
Singapore8:30am
Tokyo9:30am
Zurich1:30am
See full list of cities on timeanddate.com

Research Developments (including Early Career)
11.30 – 12.30pm 

Chair: Dr Nader Naderpajouh, University of Sydney 

This session will provide brief presentations of the latest international research, including an award for presentations from early career and doctoral research. 

Judging committee: Dr Sam Macaulay, UQ; Dr Ashwin Mahalingam, IIT Madras

Evening Session

Add to calendar

All times 7:00 – 9:00pm Sydney local time.

Indicative time zone conversions – 7:00-9:00pm Sydney Local Time
Auckland9:00pm
Beijing4:00pm
Berlin9:00am
Brisbane6:00pm
Doha11:00am
Hong Kong4:00pm
London8:00am
Los Angeles12:00 midnight
Mexico City2:00am
New York3:00am
Shanghai4:00pm
Singapore6:00am
Tokyo5:00pm
Zurich9:00am
See full list of cities on timeanddate.com

Evening Celebration: Welcome and Introductions
7.00 – 7.30pm 

Introduction to the Evening Session: Recap of the conversation so far and outline of the John Grill Institute for Project Leadership and its plans

Session 4: Leadership and Governance
7.30 – 8.10pm

Chair: Professor Lynn Crawford, University of Sydney

This session will explore questions about how to govern major projects and programs, and how they connect to wider project ecologies.

Panel Speakers: Professor Ralf Müller, BI Norwegian Business School; Professor Alfons van Marrewijk, Vrie University, Amsterdam; Professor Andrew Davies, SPRU, University of Sussex Business School

Session 5: Temporary Multi-Level Organising across Portfolios, Programs and Projects 
8.10 – 8.50pm

Chair: Professor Stewart Clegg, University of Sydney

This session will explore the connections between corporate strategies and portfolios, programs and projects.

Panel Speakers: Professor Jonas Söderlund, University of Linkoping, Sweden;  
Professor Miia Martinsuo, Tampere University; Professor Catherine Killen, University of Technology Sydney

Closing Words
8.50 – 9.00pm